Explore Norfolk Trails

Crash course to the Marriott’s Way

I have to admit before last Monday I had never ventured onto any of the Norfolk Trails, and seeing as my next year would involve spending a lot of time concentrating on them it was about time I went exploring, this time along the Marriott’s Way.

I couldn’t believe how close to Norwich City centre and accessible the start of the trail was and within a 20 minute cycle ride the views either side of me were fields adorned with butterflies flitting around the boundaries.

Meadow Brown

Meadow Brown

At every mile there were mile markers designed by John Behm, which reflects the history of two former railways closed in 1985, each mile marker being different from the last.

Wildlife is abundant along the way enriched due to the river Wensum meandering along side occasionally, with footbridges over it every now and then. These provided perfect viewing platforms to see banded demoiselles and a fleeting flash of blues from a pair of Kingfishers that I was lucky to see!

Overlooking the Wensum

Overlooking the Wensum

 

 

I finished my journey at Lenwade where I turned around and headed back into Norwich, it had been a long time since I last cycled and parts of me were feeling a little worse for ware, however it was wonderful to spend the day discovering a section of the Marriott’s Way.

 

 

 

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2014 by in Marriott's Way, The Broads.

View posts by date

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow us on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

